Case Western Reserve University's independent student news source

The Observer

Case Western Reserve University's independent student news source

The Observer

Case Western Reserve University's independent student news source

The Observer

Sign up for our weekly newsletter!

Forty fall student athletes named to UAA’s 25th anniversary teams

The final installment of the University Athletic Association 25th Anniversary teams were announced for the fall. Numerous Spartans were honored for their performances on the field.

The 25th anniversary teams consist of each student athlete who was named Player of the Year or has accumulated five or more points via All-UAA honors. A first-team recognition was worth two points and a second-team nod was worth one.

Headlining the names for the Spartans was legendary Quarterback Dan Whalen, who is the only football player in UAA history to earn three Player of the Year honors. Whalen won the award from 2007-2009, leading the Spartans to three UAA Championships and three NCAA playoff appearances.

Other notable names for the Spartan football team were Sam Coffey, Dale English, and Marcus Kluczynski, who all earned first-team All-UAA honors in each of their four years playing. Brian Calderone and Whalen earned first-team honors three times and second-team honors once. Earning three first-team honors were Joseph Brenner, Ken Holloway, John Tiemeier, and Rich Zdrojewsi.

Other members of the anniversary team for the Spartans were Bobby Bott, Tom Brew, Jeff Brown, Dan Calabrese, Corey Checkan, Tom Courtad, Zach Homyk, David Kallevig, Santo Maimone, Mark Massman, Brandon McDowell, Jeremy Nawyn, Shaun Nicely, Tony Opperman, Ed Trebets, Josh Trook, and Mike Tuertscher.

Earning honors as part of the women’s cross country 25th anniversary team were Kristen Bowhers, Esther Erb, Justine Jeroski, and Andrea Park for the Spartans.

On the men’s cross country team, Steve Cullen, Matthew Finnerty, and Aaron Johnston-Peck earned honors.

The women’s soccer team had three players earn honors as Nancy Moon, Sandra Oh, and Sue Waniewski were recognized for their performances on the field.

The men’s soccer team was headlined by Vinny Bell, one of five players who has won the Most Valuable Player honors twice. Bell is joined on the 25th anniversary team by Mark Ruegsegger.

The volleyball team placed one student athlete on the anniversary team: middle hitter Tricia McCutchan, who earned second-team honors her first three years before earning a spot on the All-UAA first team and consequently a spot on the anniversary squad.

Leave a Comment

Comments (0)

In an effort to promote dialogue and the sharing of ideas, The Observer encourages members of the university community to respectfully voice their comments below. Comments that fail to meet the standards of respect and mutual tolerance will be removed as necessary.
All The Observer Picks Reader Picks Sort: Newest

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *