Observer’s Playlist of the Week: 2/29

Jason Walsh, Music Critic

The Bullitts – “They Die by Dawn (ft. Yasiin Bey, Jay Electronica, and Lucy Liu)”
I’ve never heard of the Bullitts, but apparently one of their members recently directed a spaghetti western short film called “They Die By Dawn” that stars Michael K. Williams and Erykah Badu. The soundtrack features Jay Electronica, Yasiin Bey (formerly known as Mos Def), Tori Amos, Rosario Dawson, and Lucy Liu. If your curiosity isn’t piqued, something is wrong with you.

Kurt Vile – “Never Run Away”
“Never Run Away” is the latest single from Kurt Vile’s upcoming album Wakin On A Pretty Daze, due out Apr. 9. Apparently, there’s a Kurt Vile parade in Philadelphia this Saturday. I don’t know how or why or where, but if for some reason you’re going to be in Philadelphia, you should probably go.

James Blake – “Digital Lion”
Yet another James Blake single. I think nearly half of his upcoming album Overgrown has now been released as singles. But hey, they’ve all been good and so should the album.

White Fence – “Fragility”
White Fence released one of my favorite albums of last year, a collaborative album with Ty Segall called Hair. “Fragility” is the B-side to White Fence’s new single “Pink Gorilla.” “Fragility” is part lo-fi country, part old-school Kinks, and a solid B-side.

Schoolboy Q – “Yay Yay”
“Yay Yay” is the new single from Kendrick Lamar-collaborator and Black Hippy crewmember Schoolboy Q, whose new album Oxymoron is out later this year. Oxymoron is the follow-up to 2012’s Habits & Contradictions, which is a really great album that got unfortunately overshadowed by Lamar and Frank Ocean last year.