Playlist of the Week: June 19, 2015

“Gates Of Dawn”—Heartless Bastards

Heartless Bastards’ latest LP, “Restless Ones,” marks the first time since 2006 that the group has maintained the same lineup as its preceding album. That newfound consistency shows on this energetic tune. Led by the musing lyrics and fearless vocal prowess of Erika Wennerstrom, “Gates Of Dawn” is the sound of a band falling in stride while pursuing passion. “Restless Ones” is available June 16 wherever music can be streamed or sold.


“Out Of Focus”—So Long, Albatross

Boasting a tried and true guitar attack akin to Queens of the Stone Age, So Long, Albatross are one of Cleveland’s hardest rocking bands. “Out Of Focus” capitalizes on this winning formula with robust riffing and a melody that will have you banging your head in no time. The power trio will be releasing their new EP at Happy Dog at this Euclid Tavern Friday June 19, flanked by The Suede Brothers and Golden Streets of Paradise. Doors open at 9 p.m. and tickets are $5.


“Lucy”—Adam Lambert Feat. Brian May

Adam Lambert has come a long way since his American Idol runner-up finish in 2009, taking the pop world by storm not only as a solo artist but as the lead singer of a revamped version of the legendary rock band Queen. Reuniting with master producers Max Martin and Shellback, the team who landed the glam rocker a hit with “Whataya Want From Me,” Lambert is perfectly in his element flirting with disco and electro-pop on “Lucy.” Featuring bandmate Brian May from Queen on lead guitar, this track is just one highlight of “The Original High,” available June 16.


“Oh Girl You’re The Devil”—Mika

Returning to his patented style of ‘70s-inspired glam on “Oh Girl You’re The Devil,” Mika recalls Freddie Mercury just as easily as he recalls early Maroon 5 on this swaggering song. With strut to spare, this track finds Mika continuing to come into his own as a songwriter, vocalist and bonafide in 2015. Look for this cut and others on “No Place In Heaven,” released June 16 on Republic Records.


“Peanut Butter Dream”—Dog Party

When the phrase “pop punk” is evoked, listeners are often conditioned to think of fleeting bands like All Time Low or The Maine who survive on catchy hits but lack in substance. Sacramento’s Dog Party prove that you can deliver on both with “Peanut Butter Dream,” an urgent punk cut that’ll leap out of your headphones with a bark and plenty of bite. The duo’s fourth album in six years, “Vol. 4,” is available June 16 on Asian Man Records.


Retro Pick of the Week:

“Tell Me When It’s Over”—The Dream Syndicate

Originally released in 1982, this week sees the reissue of The Dream Syndicate’s “The Days Of Wine And Roses,” one of the finest albums of Los Angeles’ Paisley Underground alternative rock movement. Capturing the band at the peak of its powers, “Tell Me When It’s Over” sports a title that is a bit of a misnomer. So perfect is this piece of psychedelic guitar pop, you’ll find yourself wishing that it never ended.


Teddy Eisenberg is a third year programmer at WRUW-FM 91.1 Cleveland. He hosts The ’59 Sound, an exploration of rock music, every Thursday morning from 8-10 a.m. and co-hosts the variety talk show Max and Teddy in the Morning at Night (Sometimes) on Mondays from 5-6 p.m. The crackle of vinyl warms him on cold Cleveland nights.