Case Western Reserve University's independent student news source

The Observer

Case Western Reserve University's independent student news source

The Observer

Case Western Reserve University's independent student news source

The Observer

Sign up for our weekly newsletter!

65 Spartans named to UAA 25th Anniversary Team

Chen Bai / Observer
Wrestler Isaac Dukes was one of the programs top athletes and became the fourth Spartan to win an individual National Championship with a win in the 149-pound weight class in 2010.

A combined 65 former and current student-athletes from Case Western Reserve University have been named to University Athletic Association 25th Anniversary Teams in their respective sports.

The teams consist of UAA Most Valuable Players as well as student-athletes that accumulated five or more points, with two points awarded for All-Association First Team recognition and one point given for second-team honors.

Spartan football and wrestling produced the most silver anniversary selections, while baseball senior Matt Keen and football senior Dan Calabrese were the only two current student-athletes to be named to the 25th Anniversary Teams in their respective sports.

Graduate students Dale English in football and Vinny Bell in men’s soccer competed in sports outside of their 25th Anniversary Teams this academic year.

Of the 65 Spartans named to silver anniversary teams, 27 earned an automatic spot by virtue of being named a UAA MVP during their career.

In addition, 11 of the 65 members are current members of the Spartan Club Hall of Fame or are included in this year’s induction class.

UAA 25th Anniversary Members

MVP – earned most valuable player, honors, or individual championship in respective sport
HOF– current member or 2013 inductee of the Spartan Club Hall of Fame

Scott Feskanich – MVP – HOF
Marshall Hampton
Matt Keen
Chad Mullins – MVP
Lance Sparks – MVP

Steve Cullen – HOF
Matthew Finnerty
Aaron Johnston-Peck – MVP

Kristen Bowhers
Esther Erb – MVP
Justine Jeroski
Andrea Park

Tricia McCutchan

Bobby Bott – MVP
Joseph Brenner
Tom Brew – MVP
Jeff Brown – MVP
Dan Calabrese – MVP
Brian Calderone
Corey Checkan
Sam Coffey
Tom Courtad – MVP
Dale English – MVP
Ken Holloway
Zach Homyk
David Kallevig – MVP
Marcus Kluczynski
Santo Maimone – MVP
Mark Massman
Brandon McDowell – MVP
Jeremy Nawyn
Shaun Nicely
Tony Opperman
John Tiemeier
Ed Trebets – MVP
Josh Trook
Mike Tuertscher
Dan Whalen – MVP
Rich Zdrojewski – MVP – HOF

Vinny Bell – MVP
Mark Ruegsegger

Nancy Moon – HOF
Sandra Oh
Sue Waniewski – HOF

Travis Cox
Isaac Dukes – MVP
Drew Gardella – MVP
Andy Horrigan – MVP
Derek Messmer – HOF
Scott Miller – HOF
Desi Molina
Chris Nader – MVP – HOF
Chris Ricklic – MVP – HOF
Mike Sanchez
Josh Schmidt – MVP
Men’s Basketball
Carson Oren
Ed Saxon
Women’s Basketball
Erin Hollinger
JeNine Nickerson – MVP
Erin Rogalski – HOF
Ashleigh Tondo
Adrienne Douglass – MVP
Carla Kinyon
Becky Palmer – MVP – HOF
Melanie Simpson

Leave a Comment

Comments (0)

In an effort to promote dialogue and the sharing of ideas, The Observer encourages members of the university community to respectfully voice their comments below. Comments that fail to meet the standards of respect and mutual tolerance will be removed as necessary.
All The Observer Picks Reader Picks Sort: Newest

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *