Observer’s playlist of the week: April 26, 2013

Jason Walsh, Music Critic

Azealia Banks – “Yung Rapunxel”
If you somehow haven’t heard Azealia Banks’s “212” by now, you should get on board. It was one of the best songs of last year, and “Yung Rapunxel” is her latest effort, which comes with a super-trippy video. Hopefully hip-hop can get over its only-one-female-MC-at-a-time thing and Banks, Angel Haze, and Nicki Minaj can all peacefully co-exist.

Thundercat – “Heartbreaks + Setbacks”
“Heartbreaks + Setbacks” is the new single from Thundercat, as a collaboration with electronic-glitch all-star Flying Lotus. It’s as great as you’d expect. Thundercat’s new album “Apocalypse” is out this summer on Brainfeeder.

A Tribe Called Red & Das Racist – “Indians From All Directions”
Originally meant to be on Das Racist’s album, production group A Tribe Called Red decided to release “Indians From All Directions” on their own, now that DR is defunct.

Daft Punk – “Get Lucky”
So yeah, here’s the new Daft Punk song. It’s the lead single for their upcoming album “Random Access Memories,” out May 21. The music-internet pretty much exploded when “Get Lucky” finally came out, so who knows what’s going to happen when the album drops.

Janelle Monae ft. Erykah Badu – “Q.U.E.E.N.”
The amount of times I listened to Janelle Monae’s first single “Tightrope” (and her whole album “The ArchAndroid”) way back in 2010, plus the fact that when I saw her live she wore a cape, makes me excited for anything she does. “Q.U.E.E.N.” is the first new material we’ve heard from her upcoming album “The Electric Lady,” and it makes me even more excited.