The Observer’s Weekly Playlist: 2/15/13

Jason Walsh, Music Critic

Justin Timberlake – “Mirrors”

The newest single from Justin Timberlake’s upcoming album The 20/20 Experience. An eight-minute epic of classic Justin Timberlake.


Kurt Vile – “Wakin’ On A Pretty Day”

The first single and opening track from Kurt Vile’s album Walkin On A Pretty Daze, which is scheduled to be released sometime this spring. “Wakin’ On A Pretty Day” is nine and a half minutes of laid-back guitar strumming and singing.


James Blake – “Retrograde”

“Retrograde” is the lead single from James Blake’s upcoming album Overgrown, due out April 8th. “Retrograde” surfaced as a BBC Radio 1 rip last week, and Blake released a video for it earlier this week.


Talking Heads – “This Must Be The Place (Naive Melody)”

“This Must Be The Place” is one of my favorite songs off of Talking Heads’ 1983 album Speaking in Tongues. It’s a much more laidback, groovier song after an album full of Talking Heads’ jagged post-punk / New Wave.


HAIM – “Falling”

“Falling” is the title track from HAIM’s upcoming EP. HAIM is a trio of sisters from California who make light, bouncy pop music and “Falling” is a good sign for what’s to come.